Home / Guides / Ozempic cost without insurance
Pen or pill. Every price dated.
How much does Ozempic cost without insurance in 2026?
By the NexLife Medical Team · Medically reviewed by Adam Kennah, MD · Updated
Without insurance, the Ozempic pen costs $349 a month at Novo Nordisk’s self-pay price ($499 at 2 mg), and the pill $149 to $299 (checked November 1, 2026). A new patient’s first two pen fills are $199 each, through December 31, 2026. Ozempic is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes; Wegovy is Novo Nordisk’s semaglutide for weight loss.
$119/mo on 12 months, every dosePrice Match Guarantee†
- Pen: $349 a month, or $499 at 2 mg
- Pill: $149 to start, then $199 or $299 a month
- New patients: two pen fills at $199 each, through December 31, 2026

$119/mo on a 12-month plan, all-inclusive, same price at every dose
Or $139/mo month to month
Brand-name Wegovy, for weight loss: $149 to $399 a month self-pay
About 3 minutes of health questions · No insurance needed · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
See all 4 plans and what a year costs
| Plan | Per month | 12 months at this rate |
|---|---|---|
| 12-month Lowest monthly price | $119 | $1,428 |
| 6-month | $125 | $1,500 |
| 3-month | $132 | $1,584 |
| Month to month | $139 | $1,668 |
Month to month costs $240 more over 12 months than the 12-month plan. Plans renew until you cancel. Longer plans bill the way you choose at checkout.
Price Match Guarantee†. Paying less elsewhere? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot, 407 reviewsLegitScript-certified
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. The vial shown is an illustration. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label.
- Licensed U.S. providers
- LegitScript certified
- Free expedited shipping
- HSA, FSA, Affirm, Klarna, Afterpay
- 24/7 support, real people
- Filled by Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL) or Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA)
Compounded semaglutide isn’t FDA-approved and isn’t Ozempic or Wegovy. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.
At a glance
Ozempic prices at a glance: pen, pill, insurance and Medicare
Novo Nordisk’s self-pay prices and the main ways to pay less, in one table.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| What does the pen cost? | $349 a month at 0.25, 0.5 or 1 mg, and $499 at 2 mg |
| Is there a new-patient price? | $199 for each of the first two pen fills, through December 31, 2026; then the regular price |
| What does the pill cost? | $149 for the 30-day starting dose, then $199 a month at 4 mg or $299 at 9 mg |
| With commercial insurance? | As little as $25 a fill with Novo Nordisk’s card, if your plan covers Ozempic |
| With Medicare? | Most Part D plans cover it for type 2 diabetes, Novo Nordisk says. It isn’t on Medicare’s $50 |
| For weight loss? | Off-label, so Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic offers don’t apply. Wegovy is the approved one: $149 to $399 a month self-pay |
Self-pay prices from NovoCare and Novo Nordisk’s offer terms, checked November 1, 2026. Ozempic is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes, not for weight loss.
- Tell us about you About 3 minutes of health questions
- A licensed provider decides You’re prescribed only if it’s right for you
- Your partner pharmacy ships Usually within 1 to 2 business days, free
Key takeaways
- Without insurance, the Ozempic pen is $349 a month, or $499 at 2 mg, checked November 1, 2026.
- New patients pay $199 for each of their first two pen fills, through December 31, 2026.
- The pill is $149 for the 30-day starting dose, then $199 a month at 4 mg or $299 at 9 mg.
- Commercial plans: Novo Nordisk’s card can cut a covered fill to as little as $25. Part D usually covers it for diabetes.
- Ozempic is approved for type 2 diabetes, not weight loss. Wegovy is the approved one: $149 to $399 a month self-pay.
- At NexLife, compounded semaglutide for weight loss is $119 a month on the 12-month plan. It isn’t FDA-approved or Ozempic.
Prices by dose
What does Ozempic cost without insurance, dose by dose?
Novo Nordisk sets one self-pay price for each Ozempic dose. Here they are, from its own pages.
| Ozempic | How you take it | Self-pay, a month | A 3-month fill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pen, 0.25 or 0.5 mgthe starting pen | Once a week | $349. New patients: $199 for each of their first two fills, through December 31, 2026 | $1,047 |
| Pen, 1 mg | Once a week | $349 | $1,047 |
| Pen, 2 mgthe highest dose | Once a week | $499 | $1,497 |
| Pill, 1.5 mgthe 30-day starting dose | Once a day | $149 | $447 |
| Pill, 4 mg | Once a day | $199 | $597 |
| Pill, 9 mgthe highest dose | Once a day | $299 | $897 |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Novo Nordisk’s self-pay prices from NovoCare and its Ozempic offer terms, checked November 1, 2026. A pen month is one pen, a 28-day supply; a pill month is 30 tablets. The prices are the same at NovoCare home delivery and at a pharmacy with Novo Nordisk’s savings offer.
NexLife Price Match Guarantee†. Already on compounded semaglutide with another licensed provider, and paying less? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
What a month buys. Novo Nordisk prices one pen as a 28-day supply, and the needles come in the box. A pill bottle holds 30 tablets, one a day. Buying 3 months at once saves nothing.
The $149 pill is a first step. The label says the 1.5 mg starting dose isn’t effective for blood sugar control. After 30 days, the dose goes to 4 mg ($199), and to 9 mg ($299) if you need more control. Your prescriber decides.
The pen steps up too. The label starts at 0.25 mg a week for 4 weeks, then 0.5 mg. If your blood sugar needs it, a prescriber can move you to 1 mg, then 2 mg, at least 4 weeks apart. Only the 2 mg pen costs more.
A year adds up. A pen year is 13 four-week fills: $4,537 at $349, or $6,487 at $499. With the two $199 fills, a first year at up to 1 mg is $4,237. A year of the pill (12 bottles) is $2,388 at 4 mg or $3,588 at 9 mg. These use today’s prices, and Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic savings page says: “Pricing to be updated after December 31, 2026.”
Where to buy
Where can you buy Ozempic at the self-pay price?
Three places sell it at Novo Nordisk’s self-pay prices. All three need a prescription.
NovoCare home delivery
Novo Nordisk’s own program ships Ozempic to your door, free, through licensed partner pharmacies. Your prescriber sends the prescription, or NovoCare can connect you with a telehealth prescriber. It doesn’t take insurance.
A local pharmacy
Sign up for Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic savings offer, then use it at a participating pharmacy. If you pay yourself, you pay the self-pay price.
TrumpRx.gov
The government site lists the Ozempic pen at the same prices: $199 for each of a new self-pay patient’s first two fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg through December 31, 2026, then $349, or $499 at 2 mg. You show its coupon at a pharmacy. You can’t buy drugs on TrumpRx itself, Medicare.gov says.
Who counts as new. At a pharmacy, you haven’t used an Ozempic savings offer in the past 365 days. At NovoCare, you’ve never filled an Ozempic pen there, and the prescription must be written and received by December 31, 2026 and ship by January 31, 2027.
The fine print. Novo Nordisk’s self-pay and savings offers are only for people prescribed Ozempic for a use on its FDA label, such as type 2 diabetes. You pay outside your insurance: you agree not to ask your plan to pay you back, and the cost doesn’t count toward your deductible or out-of-pocket limit. That’s true with Medicare, too.
Watch for fakes. The FDA warns that counterfeit Ozempic is sold in the U.S. Its advice: get a prescription and fill it at a state-licensed pharmacy.
In their words
What does the FDA say about buying Ozempic without insurance?
If you pay yourself, buy only from a licensed source, such as NovoCare or a participating pharmacy, and watch for fakes:
“FDA is aware of counterfeit Ozempic marketed in the U.S.”
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss
All three self-pay routes need a prescription, and the FDA’s advice covers where to fill it:
“Patients should obtain a prescription from their doctor and fill the prescription at a state-licensed pharmacy.”
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss
Compounded semaglutide, a lower-cost route for weight loss, isn’t Ozempic, and the FDA explains what that means:
“…compounded drugs are not FDA approved. This means the agency does not review compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed.”
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss
With insurance
What does Ozempic cost with commercial insurance?
Novo Nordisk says most commercial plans cover Ozempic. With coverage, its savings card can bring a fill to as little as $25.
| The $25 card | Pay as little as $25 for a 1-, 2- or 3-month fill of the pen or the pill. Savings are capped at $100 a month, so $300 for a 3-month fill. Your enrollment lasts up to 48 months. |
|---|---|
| Who can use it | People whose commercial plan covers Ozempic, prescribed it for a use on its label. Not anyone with Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DoD or TRICARE drug coverage. Federal employee (FEHB), ACA marketplace and state employee plans count as commercial here. |
| What decides coverage | Your plan’s drug list, the use your prescriber writes, and any prior authorization or step-therapy rule, Novo Nordisk says. |
| Plan won’t cover it? | You can pay the self-pay price instead, outside your insurance. |
| The list price | TrumpRx shows the pen’s “original price” as $1,027.51. Novo Nordisk will cut Ozempic’s list price to $675 a month on January 1, 2027. That helps people whose costs follow the list price, such as on high-deductible plans. Self-pay prices don’t change with it. |
Every way to pay for semaglutide, side by side: semaglutide without insurance.
Medicare
Does Medicare cover Ozempic?
For type 2 diabetes, usually: Novo Nordisk says most Part D plans cover it. Medicare’s $50
| Part D | Your cost depends on your plan. With Part D you can’t use the $25 card or Novo Nordisk’s Patient Assistance Program, but you can pay the self-pay price outside your plan. |
|---|---|
| Your yearly limit | In 2026, a Part D deductible is $615 at most. Once your out-of-pocket costs for covered drugs reach $2,100, you pay nothing more that year. In 2027, those limits rise to $700 and $2,400. |
| From 2027 | Medicare’s negotiated price for semaglutide (Ozempic, Rybelsus and Wegovy) is $274 for a 30-day supply from January 1, 2027, against a $959 list price in 2024, CMS says. Your share still depends on your plan. |
| The | From July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027, it covers Wegovy, Foundayo and the Zepbound KwikPen at $50 a month for people who qualify. Ozempic isn’t on it. People with type 2 diabetes aren’t eligible, “because your Medicare drug plan should cover |
| Self-pay with Medicare | Allowed, but it sits outside your plan. Medicare.gov says discount cards such as TrumpRx don’t count toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. |
| Medicaid | Medicaid has its own Ozempic coverage, and costs vary. Medicaid members can’t use the $25 card but can pay the self-pay price. |
Who qualifies for the $50 Bridge, and what to do if you don’t: Medicare
What changed
What’s changing for Ozempic’s price, and when?
Newest first, the coming changes included, each with its source.
Ozempic’s list price drops to $675 a month. That helps people whose costs follow the list price; Novo Nordisk says self-pay prices aren’t affected. Source: Novo Nordisk.
Medicare’s negotiated price for semaglutide (Ozempic, Rybelsus and Wegovy) starts: $274 for a 30-day supply. Your share still depends on your Part D plan. Source: CMS.
Last day of the $199 price for each of a new self-pay patient’s first two Ozempic pen fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg. Source: TrumpRx.gov.
We checked Novo Nordisk’s self-pay prices: the pen is $349 a month ($499 at 2 mg), and the pill $149 to $299. Source: NovoCare.
Medicare’s
GLP-1 Bridge starts, through December 31, 2027: $50 a month for Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen, for people who qualify. Ozempic isn’t on it. Source: Medicare.gov.Novo Nordisk announces lower U.S. list prices for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus, starting January 1, 2027. Source: Novo Nordisk.
For weight loss
Can you get Ozempic for weight loss?
A prescriber can write it, but Ozempic isn’t FDA-approved for weight loss, so that use is off-label. Wegovy is Novo Nordisk’s semaglutide approved for it.
| Ozempic | Wegovy | |
|---|---|---|
| FDA-approved for | Type 2 diabetes in adults: blood sugar control, and lowering heart risks (and, for the pen, kidney risks) in some of them | Weight loss in adults with obesity, or overweight and a weight-related health problem, and teens 12 and up (pen); lowering heart risks in adults with heart disease and excess weight |
| Weight loss | Off-label | Approved |
| Pen, self-pay | $349 a month; $499 at 2 mg | $349 a month; $399 for Wegovy HD (7.2 mg) |
| New patients, pen | $199 for each of the first two fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026 | $199 for each of the first two fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026 |
| Pill, self-pay | $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 mg) | $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 or 25 mg) |
| Medicare | Not covered | $50 a month, if you qualify |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Approved uses from the Ozempic labels and wegovy.com; self-pay prices from NovoCare and wegovy.com; the Bridge from Medicare.gov; all checked November 1, 2026.
NexLife Price Match Guarantee†. Already on compounded semaglutide with another licensed provider, and paying less? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
Why it matters for the price. Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic self-pay and savings offers require a prescription for a use on Ozempic’s label. Plans can also tie coverage to the approved use. For weight loss, Wegovy’s own offers apply instead.
Same molecule, different doses. Both are semaglutide. Ozempic goes up to 2 mg a week; Wegovy to 2.4 mg, or 7.2 mg as Wegovy HD. Side by side: Ozempic vs. Wegovy.
Lower-cost options
Is there a cheaper way to get Ozempic, or semaglutide?
It depends on why you take it. Here are the lower-cost routes for type 2 diabetes, then for weight loss.
| Diabetes: the pill | At 4 mg, the Ozempic pill is $199 a month, against $349 for the pen. The two are taken differently and have different approved uses, so your prescriber decides. |
|---|---|
| Diabetes: free Ozempic | Novo Nordisk’s Patient Assistance Program gives Ozempic free to U.S. residents who meet its income rules and have no Medicare, Medicaid or other government drug coverage. Call 1-866-310-7549. |
| Diabetes: your plan | Commercial coverage with the $25 card, or a Part D plan, as above. |
| Weight loss: the Wegovy pill | $149 a month at 1.5 mg, the lowest dose, then $199 at 4 mg and $299 at 9 or 25 mg, self-pay. |
| Weight loss: the Wegovy pen | $199 for each of a new patient’s first two fills through December 31, 2026, then $349 a month ($399 for Wegovy HD). |
| Weight loss with Medicare | $50 a month for Wegovy through the |
| Weight loss: compounded semaglutide | $119 to $299 a month, all in, month to month, at the 17 semaglutide programs in our |
NexLife Price Match Guarantee†. Already on compounded semaglutide with another licensed provider, and paying less? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
What compounded means. A state-licensed pharmacy prepares compounded semaglutide for one patient’s prescription. The FDA doesn’t review it for safety, effectiveness or quality before it’s sold, and says: “Compounded drugs should only be used in patients whose medical needs cannot be met by an FDA-approved drug.” Novo Nordisk says it doesn’t supply the semaglutide in its medicines for compounding.
The differences, in full: compounded vs. brand semaglutide.
Step by step
How do you pay the least for Ozempic without insurance, step by step?
Start with the use on your prescription and any coverage, then work down to the self-pay price.
- Check the use on your prescription. Novo Nordisk’s self-pay and savings offers are only for Ozempic prescribed for a use on its FDA label, such as type 2 diabetes. For weight loss, Wegovy’s own offers apply.
- Use any coverage you have. If your commercial plan covers Ozempic, Novo Nordisk’s card can cut a fill to as little as $25. Novo Nordisk says most Part D plans cover it for type 2 diabetes.
- Ask about free Ozempic. Novo Nordisk’s Patient Assistance Program gives Ozempic free to U.S. residents who meet its income rules and have no Medicare, Medicaid or other government drug coverage.
- Use the new-patient price. New self-pay patients pay $199 for each of their first two pen fills of 0.25 or 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026; then the regular price applies.
- Compare the pill and the pen. Self-pay, the pen is $349 a month, or $499 at 2 mg; the pill is $199 at 4 mg or $299 at 9 mg. They’re taken differently and have different approved uses, so your prescriber decides.
- Buy only from a licensed source. With a prescription, use NovoCare, a participating pharmacy or TrumpRx’s coupon; the FDA warns of counterfeit Ozempic. Self-pay costs don’t count toward your deductible or out-of-pocket limit.
Ozempic’s self-pay prices are Novo Nordisk’s, the same at NovoCare and at a pharmacy with its savings offer.
Every program
How do all 17 compounded semaglutide programs compare?
Compounded semaglutide isn’t Ozempic and isn’t FDA-approved; if you’re weighing it for weight loss, here’s every program in our price index, checked November 1, 2026.
| Program | Month to month, all in | Longest plan, per month | Same price at every dose? |
|---|---|---|---|
| PreventiveMD | $119 | Prepaid 3 to 12 months, not in our index | Yes |
| NexLife (publisher of this guide) | $139 | $119 (12 months) | Yes |
| Mochi Health | $139 (at the lowest dose) | $109 (lowest dose, 12-month membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Ivím Health | $140 (at the lowest price listed) | Not published | Not stated |
| Ondra Health | $149 | $96 (12 months, $1,149 upfront) | Yes |
| Alloy | $169 (at the lowest price listed) | Monthly only | Not stated |
| Cora | $175 | $99 (12 months, $1,188 upfront) | Yes |
| Rx.com | $175 | $99 (12 months, $1,188 upfront) | Yes |
| Fifty 410 | $199 | None listed | Not stated |
| MEDVi | $199 (after a $99 first month) | Not published | Yes |
| Refills | $199 | $99 (12 months) | Yes |
| Raeliva | $219 | $150 (6 months, $900 upfront) | Yes |
| Shapely | $238 (low to mid dose; $278 high dose) | $198 (3-month starter package, with membership) | No, rises with dose |
| Noom | $279 (after a $129 first month) | Billed $837 every 12 weeks | Not stated |
| Henry Meds | $297 | About $197 (12 months, $2,364 paid in full) | By amount |
| Embody | $299 (its regular price) | Prepaid bundles, not in our index | Yes |
| Remedy Meds | $299 (every 4 weeks, after $179 at first) | Month to month only | Yes |
NexLife Price Match Guarantee†. Already on compounded semaglutide with another licensed provider, and paying less? We match your regular monthly price. How it works
All in means the medication plus any required membership or program fee. Each price links to the program’s own page, read November 1, 2026. Every program and its notes: our GLP-1 price index.
HSA and FSA
Can you pay for Ozempic with an HSA or FSA?
Usually, yes. The IRS counts prescribed medicines as medical expenses.
| The IRS rule | “You can include in medical expenses amounts you pay for prescribed medicines and drugs,” Publication 502 says. An HSA pays for medical care your insurance doesn’t cover; a health FSA pays what your plan lists, under the same rules (Publication 969). |
|---|---|
| With insurance | Your copay or coinsurance for covered Ozempic is the kind of cost an HSA or FSA can pay. |
| Self-pay fills | Novo Nordisk’s self-pay terms say you won’t seek reimbursement for a self-pay purchase from insurance, a “healthcare reimbursement account” or any other third party. TrumpRx’s coupon terms have a similar rule. |
| At NexLife | NexLife takes HSA and FSA cards for compounded semaglutide and provides a letter of medical necessity. |
The rules for semaglutide, in detail: semaglutide with HSA or FSA.
At NexLife
Compounded semaglutide at NexLife: what it costs and who it’s for
NexLife’s providers prescribe compounded semaglutide for weight loss. It isn’t a treatment for type 2 diabetes and doesn’t replace Ozempic or your diabetes care. The price is the same at every dose, and it’s one of the most affordable all-in prices in our index of 21 programs (checked November 1, 2026).
| Compounded semaglutide | $119 a month on the 12-month plan, $125 on 6 months, $132 on 3 months or $139 month to month |
|---|---|
| Same at every dose | No membership fee, and nothing extra when your dose goes up. |
| Included | A licensed provider who follows your dose, the medication, a nutrition plan, a 1:1 coaching call, free expedited shipping and real people 24/7. |
| Who fills it | Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL) or Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA), state-licensed 503A partner pharmacies. Questions come to us, not the pharmacy. |
| How you start | About 3 minutes of health questions online. A licensed provider reviews them online and prescribes only if it’s right for you. |
| Ways to pay | An HSA or FSA card (NexLife provides a letter of medical necessity), or Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout. With Medicare, you can pay yourself. |
| Price Match Guarantee† | Already on compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide and paying less with another licensed provider? We match your regular monthly price, with a receipt from the last 60 days. It doesn’t cover insurance, LillyDirect, NovoCare or TrumpRx purchases. |
Against the market: month to month, $139 is $60 under the $199 median of the 17 semaglutide programs in our
Who’s behind it: NexLife’s medical director is Adam Kennah, MD, board-certified in emergency medicine by the American Board of Emergency Medicine. Call or text
Compounded semaglutide isn’t FDA-approved, isn’t Ozempic or Wegovy, and a licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Vial math
How many units is your semaglutide dose?
It depends on your vial’s strength. Here are the Wegovy label’s dose steps at two example strengths.
| Weeks | Weekly dose | At 2.5 mg/mL | At 5 mg/mL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 4 | 0.25 mg | 0.1 mL (10 units) | 0.05 mL (5 units) |
| 5 to 8 | 0.5 mg | 0.2 mL (20 units) | 0.1 mL (10 units) |
| 9 to 12 | 1 mg | 0.4 mL (40 units) | 0.2 mL (20 units) |
| 13 to 16 | 1.7 mg | 0.68 mL (68 units) | 0.34 mL (34 units) |
| 17 onward | 2.4 mg | 0.96 mL (96 units) | 0.48 mL (48 units) |
The math: mL = dose ÷ strength (mg per mL); units = mL × 100. At 2.5 mg/mL, 1 mg is 1 ÷ 2.5 = 0.4 mL, or 40 units. At 5 mg/mL, the same 1 mg is 0.2 mL, or 20 units.
Both strengths are examples only. The same dose is a different number of units at a different strength, so read the strength on your own vial’s label. Your prescription sets your dose and schedule, which may differ from these label steps. Every step: the semaglutide dosage chart.
What does NexLife cost?
One flat price at every dose.
No membership fee. Provider care, a nutrition plan, coaching and shipping are included. Paying less with another licensed provider? We match your regular monthly price.†
GIP + 12-month plan $139/mo
Tirzepatide
Weekly and dual-action. Care, coaching and shipping included. On a 12-month plan; $169/mo month to month.
Check my eligibilityCompounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication

12-month plan $119/mo
Semaglutide
Weekly
Compounded, not FDA-approved · Not prescribed? No charge for medication
Compounded, not FDA-approved. A licensed provider prescribes it only when it offers a significant difference for you. Vials shown are illustrations. Always use the strength on your pharmacy’s label. Every plan and price · Price Match Guarantee† terms
The NexLife Price Match Guarantee†
Paying less elsewhere?
Keep your price. Upgrade your care.
Already on compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide? Pay less with another licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic, and we match your regular monthly price for as long as your plan stays active.† Plus a provider who follows your dose, a nutrition plan, a coaching call and real people 24/7.
- 1Send a receipt from the last 60 days
- 2A NexLife provider reviews your prescription
- 3Pay your matched price, at every dose
Locked while your plan is activeSame price at every doseNo membership fee
†Terms: see the Price Match Guarantee† details below. Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved; a provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
Ozempic without insurance: your questions
Fair questions about NexLife
- Will my price go up with my dose?
- No. You pay the same at every dose.
- What if I’m not prescribed?
- You aren’t charged for medication.
- Can I cancel?
- Yes, by email. It takes effect 30 days after we receive it. Plans renew until you cancel; our cancellation policy has the details.
- Do I need insurance?
- No. Pay with an HSA or FSA card, or with Affirm, Klarna or Afterpay at checkout.
How much is Ozempic without insurance?
The Ozempic pen is $349 a month at Novo Nordisk’s self-pay price, or $499 at 2 mg; the pill is $149 to $299 (checked November 1, 2026). New patients pay $199 for each of their first two pen fills through December 31, 2026. A 3-month fill costs three times the monthly price.
Is there a cheaper way to get Ozempic?
Yes, if you qualify. With commercial coverage, Novo Nordisk’s card can cut a fill to as little as $25; most Part D plans cover it. Its Patient Assistance Program gives Ozempic free to people who meet its income rules, without government drug coverage. Self-pay, the 4 mg pill is $199 a month, against $349 for the pen.
Is the Ozempic pill cheaper than the pen?
Usually. Self-pay, the pill is $199 a month at 4 mg or $299 at 9 mg, against $349 for the pen at up to 1 mg and $499 at 2 mg. The pill’s 30-day starting dose is $149. They’re taken differently, a pill daily or a shot weekly, and have different approved uses, so your prescriber decides.
Does Medicare cover Ozempic?
Usually, for type 2 diabetes: Novo Nordisk says most Part D plans cover it, and your cost depends on your plan. Part D caps out-of-pocket costs for covered drugs at $2,100 in 2026 ($2,400 in 2027). Ozempic isn’t on Medicare’s $50
Does the Ozempic self-pay price apply if it’s prescribed for weight loss?
No, by Novo Nordisk’s terms: its Ozempic offers are for a use on Ozempic’s label, such as type 2 diabetes, and weight loss is off-label. Wegovy, approved for weight loss, has its own self-pay prices: the pill is $149 to $299 a month, and the pen $349 ($399 at 7.2 mg) after two $199 new-patient fills through December 31, 2026.
Can a pharmacy compound Ozempic?
No. Ozempic is Novo Nordisk’s FDA-approved brand. A pharmacy can compound semaglutide for one patient’s prescription, but that isn’t Ozempic and isn’t FDA-approved. Novo Nordisk says it doesn’t supply the semaglutide in its medicines for compounding. In our price index, compounded semaglutide costs $119 to $299 a month, all in, month to month (checked November 1, 2026).
Where can I buy Ozempic without insurance?
With a prescription, at NovoCare home delivery, which ships free, or at a participating pharmacy with Novo Nordisk’s savings offer. Both charge $349 a month for the pen ($499 at 2 mg) and $149 to $299 for the pill. TrumpRx.gov lists the same pen prices. The FDA warns of counterfeit Ozempic, so use a state-licensed pharmacy.
Can I pay for Ozempic with an HSA or FSA?
Usually, yes: the IRS counts prescribed medicines as medical expenses (Publication 502), and HSAs and health FSAs can pay them (Publication 969). One catch: Novo Nordisk’s self-pay terms say you won’t seek reimbursement for a self-pay purchase from a “healthcare reimbursement account.” NexLife takes HSA and FSA cards for compounded semaglutide and provides a letter of medical necessity.
Is there a generic Ozempic in the U.S.?
No. Novo Nordisk says it’s the only company in the U.S. with FDA-approved semaglutide medicines (read November 1, 2026). A compounded drug isn’t a generic either: a generic is FDA-approved, and compounded semaglutide isn’t. Where things stand: our generic semaglutide guide.
What changes for Ozempic’s price in 2027?
Novo Nordisk will cut Ozempic’s list price to $675 a month on January 1, 2027, helping people whose costs follow the list price; it says self-pay prices aren’t affected. Medicare’s negotiated price for semaglutide, $274 for a 30-day supply, starts the same day. Novo Nordisk’s Ozempic savings page says: “Pricing to be updated after December 31, 2026.”
How much does Ozempic cost for a year without insurance?
Self-pay, a year of Ozempic pens is $4,537 at $349, or $6,487 at 2 mg ($499), since a pen year is 13 four-week fills. With a new patient’s two $199 fills (through December 31, 2026), a first year at up to 1 mg is $4,237. A year of the pill is $2,388 at 4 mg.
How long does one Ozempic pen last?
28 days. Novo Nordisk prices one pen as a 28-day supply, and the needles come in the box. Self-pay, a pen is $349, or $499 at 2 mg (checked November 1, 2026). A pill bottle holds 30 tablets, one a day. Buying 3 months at once saves nothing.
Can I use the Ozempic $25 savings card without insurance?
No. Novo Nordisk’s $25 card is for people whose commercial plan covers Ozempic, prescribed for a use on its label. It isn’t for anyone with Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DoD or TRICARE drug coverage. If your plan won’t cover Ozempic, you can pay the self-pay price instead, outside your insurance.
Important safety information
Compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide are not FDA-approved, and the FDA hasn’t reviewed them for safety, effectiveness or quality. A provider prescribes them only when they offer a significant difference for you compared with an FDA-approved product. Both medicines may cause thyroid tumors, including cancer: don’t use either if you or a family member has had medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2).
Read the full safety information
In studies with rodents, both medicines caused thyroid tumors; it isn’t known whether they cause them in people. Tell your provider if you notice a lump or swelling in your neck, hoarseness, trouble swallowing or shortness of breath. Serious side effects can include inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis), gallbladder problems, low blood sugar (especially with insulin or sulfonylureas), kidney problems from dehydration, severe stomach problems, serious allergic reactions, vision changes in people with type 2 diabetes, and a faster heart rate. Tell your care team before any surgery or procedure that uses anesthesia or deep sedation. Don’t combine either medicine with other
Tirzepatide can make birth control pills less effective: switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method such as condoms, for 4 weeks after you start and for 4 weeks after each dose increase. Both medicines may harm an unborn baby. Semaglutide should be stopped at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy. Tell your provider right away if you’re pregnant, planning to be, or breastfeeding.
This is a summary, not the complete safety information. Read the full Prescribing Information for FDA-approved tirzepatide (Zepbound) and semaglutide (Wegovy), and talk with your provider. You can report side effects to the FDA at
† NexLife Price Match Guarantee: for new NexLife members switching from a licensed U.S. telehealth provider or clinic with an active prescription for compounded tirzepatide or semaglutide. We match your regular all-in monthly price there (medication plus any required membership, program or visit fee, on a month-to-month plan); first-month offers, coupons, referral credits and prepaid multi-month rates aren’t matched. Proof from the last 60 days required. A licensed provider must determine that treatment is right for you. Not open to people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE coverage. Full terms.
About NexLife. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. Care is delivered through affiliated, physician-owned medical groups, and licensed providers decide whether treatment is right for you. NexLife doesn’t make or compound medication: state-licensed partner pharmacies fill each prescription, and we coordinate the rest. Available only in states where our affiliated providers are licensed.
Who wrote and medically reviewed this page?
Leads the NexLife Medical Team, which writes and medically reviews NexLife’s guides, including this one.
Novo Nordisk’s prices and terms, Medicare’s rules and the labels checked November 1, 2026.
- How we checked. Ozempic’s self-pay prices and offer terms come from Novo Nordisk’s NovoCare pages, its Ozempic price guide and its savings-offer terms; coverage rules from ozempic.com; approved uses from the two Ozempic prescribing informations and wegovy.com; TrumpRx’s listing from TrumpRx.gov; Medicare’s rules from Medicare.gov and CMS; the 2027 list price from Novo Nordisk’s announcement; HSA and FSA rules from IRS Publications 502 and 969; and the FDA’s cautions from its page on unapproved
GLP-1 drugs, all read November 1, 2026. Compounded prices come from ourGLP-1 price index, checked November 1, 2026. Year totals are our arithmetic. - Every fact, sourced. Each price and rule links to the page it comes from.
- How we make money. NexLife is a telehealth and care-coordination platform. We earn revenue when people join NexLife.
- Corrections, fast. See something wrong or out of date? Email care@nexlife.us and we’ll fix it.
Paying less elsewhere? We match it.†
You know the prices and the rules. For weight loss, the next step takes 3 minutes.
A licensed provider reviews your health history and decides if compounded semaglutide is right for you: $119 a month on the 12-month plan, or $139 month to month, at every dose.
4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot · Medical director Adam Kennah, MD (NPI 1144260043) · LegitScript-certified
Compounded medications aren’t FDA-approved. A provider prescribes one only when it offers a significant difference for you.
- 1Tell us about you
Start online with your health history.
- 2A licensed provider decides
Online, following your state’s rules. You’re prescribed only if treatment is right for you.
- 3We ship it, then stay with you
Our partner pharmacy usually ships within 1 to 2 business days. Free shipping, and questions come to us 24/7, never to the pharmacy.
Sources
- NovoCare: Ozempic and Wegovy self-pay prices, home delivery. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk: Ozempic pill and pen price guide (May 2026). Checked November 1, 2026.
- NovoCare: Ozempic savings offer. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk: Diabetes Savings Offer terms (Ozempic self-pay and $25 card). Read November 1, 2026.
- NovoCare: home delivery terms and conditions. Read November 1, 2026.
- Ozempic.com: cost and coverage. Read November 1, 2026.
- Ozempic.com: Ozempic pen questions. Read November 1, 2026.
- Ozempic.com: Ozempic pill questions. Read November 1, 2026.
- Ozempic (semaglutide) injection prescribing information, Novo Nordisk, revised May 2026. Read November 1, 2026.
- Rybelsus and Ozempic (semaglutide) tablets prescribing information, Novo Nordisk, revised January 2026. Read November 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk: What to pay for Wegovy. Checked November 1, 2026.
- TrumpRx.gov: Ozempic pen. Checked November 1, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk: lower U.S. list price for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus from January 1, 2027 (February 24, 2026). Read November 1, 2026.
- CMS: Medicare drug price negotiation, negotiated prices for 2027. Read November 1, 2026.
- Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs (the Medicare
GLP-1 Bridge). Read November 1, 2026. - CMS: Medicare
GLP-1 Bridge. Read November 1, 2026. - Medicare.gov: what Medicare drug coverage costs. Read November 1, 2026.
- FDA: concerns with unapproved
GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. Read November 1, 2026. - IRS Publication 502 (2025), Medical and Dental Expenses. Read November 1, 2026.
- IRS Publication 969 (2025), Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans. Read November 1, 2026.
- NexLife:
GLP-1 price index. Compounded prices checked November 1, 2026. - NexLife: pricing, every plan.
Ozempic, Rybelsus, Wegovy and NovoCare are trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S; Zepbound, KwikPen and Foundayo of Eli Lilly and Company. NexLife isn’t affiliated with either.